Thumper…

June 8, 2015

A bit more cooking

Had a chance to do a bit more cooking recently, including orange roast duck with warm pear salad last night. Here’s a few from the past few months (again, mostly for my benefit so I know where to go to find these recipes again).
This one was back on Christmas day, but somehow I missed it. It was partly inspired from this, but as with most of my cooking, it was actually nothing like the recipe.

Squash, cabbage and pecans. Couldn’t say that this one set the world on fire at our Christmas lunch, but I think that was partly because it had been warming in the oven for over an hour after I’d prepared it while we waited for my brother to arrive.

Squash and pecans

Squash and pecans

Roasted squash (in the weber) with (possibly) some thyme, cabbage just very lightly cooked, tossed together with some pecans on the top. A dash of lemon juice squeezed over it finished off the dish, then tossed together. It wasn’t too bad the next few days as either a salad or warmed.

Finally a successful grapefruit cake! All I did was use my favourite lemon cake recipe and substitute grapefruit for lemons. It worked!

Grapefruit cake

Grapefruit cake

Orange cheesecake. There is no real recipe and normally I would have written something down about what I did, but it was back on Mother’s Day, so I really can’t remember. It was made with gluten free biscuits for the base – a triple choc chip variety. I think I loosely followed the mango cheesecake one from here, but with modifications. Of course. Orange rind from a couple of oranges was in the mixture. On the top is some orange sauce, orange segments and the FIRST harvest from my vertical garden. Possibly the last given how unwell the plants look now… The orange sauce sort of turned out ok. I cut back on the sugar but it was a little sour. The orange sauce part of the recipe was from here.

Mixture for orange cheesecake

Mixture for orange cheesecake


Orange cheesecake

Orange cheesecake

Vertical garden in better days

Vertical garden in better days

The orange sauce left me with some egg whites. An unusual position for me to be in, normally it is egg yolks I have left over. I found this recipe for meringues. Pretty easy. Basically, it’s 50gm caster sugar per egg white. I also put some chocolate powder in them. They turned out great. They were hollow in the center, don’t know how that happened or if it was meant to, but it did. I put them in the oven for about 10mins at around 140-150deg. My two egg whites made about 6 meringues.

Chocolate meringue

Chocolate meringue

Chocolate meringue ready to go

Chocolate meringue ready to go

A salad at work – which has no name seeing as it was my own idea again, with a few ideas from various similar recipes on the net. Basically: Cabbage, carrots, cranberries (1/3 cup, lightly chopped), capsicum and an apple (skin on). The dressing was lemon juice (1/2 cup), olive oil (2 tbl spoons) and some seaseme seeds. Everyone at work enjoyed it. I made it again a bit later on and used orange juice instead of lemon juice and that was pretty good too.

Cabbage salad

Cabbage salad

One other recipe “find” was on the side of a tin of Golden Circle tropical fruit salad – Tropical yogurt squares. I had spare yogurt left over from some of my other recipes, so I gave it a go. It was absolutely delicious! It’s probably one of the best tasting cakes I’ve made in a while. It will need more time in the oven than stated in the recipe though. I took it out when the skewer came out clean – it looked cooked, had pulled away from the edges. I should’ve listened to that little voice of God telling me to give it a bit longer – it sunk. Badly. After a few days I decided something had to be done for the rest of the cake to attempt to make it edible. I put it back in the oven and kept it cooking until the skewer came out clean. This time it was cooked, but it was the thickness of a pancake. Can’t expect it to rise again though, and even though it doesn’t look very appealing, it actually still tastes great. Not recommended though – cook it properly the first time!

Anyway, here’s the recipe:

Tropical Yogurt Squares – Golden Circle Fruit Salad tin recipe

  • 200gm butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups SR flour
  • 1 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1/2 cup dessicated coconut
  • 1 tsp finely grated orange rind
  • 440gm can Golden Circle traditional fruit salad in juice, well drained (or equivalent brand)
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds for the top

Method:

  • Pre heat over to 180deg. Lightly grease and line a 20 x 30cm slice tin
  • Cream butter and sugar using electric beaters until pale and creamy. Add eggs one at a time beating well between each addition.
  • Fold in flour, yoghurt, coconut and orange rind until batter is smooth (or mix it on low like I did…)
  • Gently fold through fruit salad and pour mixture into prepared slice tin. Sprinkle almonds and bake for 30-35mins until a skewer comes out clean.
  • Allow to cool slightly before turning onto a cooling rack. Cut into squares and dust with icing sugar to serve.
Tropical yoghurt squares

Tropical yoghurt squares

And finally, last night’s orange roast duck with warm pear salad. I wasn’t too far off following the recipe exactly for this one, except that I had no tamarind paste, so I put a little lime juice and brown sugar in the basting liquid. The duck was almost a little dry – I wouldn’t have wanted to cook it any longer and I gave it less than it said on the recipe. It was probably a little underwhelming in the taste department given the effort and what I was expecting. I couldn’t really taste the orange and honey as I’d hoped, but no worries, can try again one day. When I was in Vietnam last year I had this excellent duck with orange sauce. That was sooo good I am hoping to find something that can even get part way to replicating it. The salad was some cabbage and spinach leaves, tossed in the dressing on that recipe.

And yeah – the last few recipes have included oranges. I was in Mildura a few weeks ago and picked up some fresh oranges, so I’ve been working through them. I also got given a cabbage a few weeks ago. Finally it is all gone!

Orange duck with pear salad

Orange duck with pear salad

1 Comment »

  1. […] was running away. I know for sure it was a nobake one, quite possibly based on my orange cheesecake here. At least you know it’s possible. You can google it […]

    Pingback by Honey Honey | Thumper... — December 29, 2015 @ 12:59 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

