Thumper…

April 12, 2015

A few cooking things

So much has been happening that it’s been so long since I’ve posted.  Earlier in the year I had a few grapes left over.  Not quite bad enough to throw out, but I didn’t particularly enjoy eating them.  A quick google search for “grape cakes” gave me this recipe. The cake was really just a normal cake recipe with grapes thrown in I thought, but I took a bit to work and it went down ok, despite the looks.  If you have grapes to spare, at least you will use them up with this one.

Slice of grape cake

Slice of grape cake

Grape cake

Grape cake

Because summer was mango season, I also grabbed a few more mangos and voluntarily continued my mango challenge. I made some mango muffins which were a bit of a flop and a lovely mango cheesecake.  The cheesecake tasted great and it was loved at work as well.

Mango Muffins

Mango Muffins

Mango Cheesecake

Mango Cheesecake

The other thing I cooked recently was a butterscotch pudding.  This was made for our work lunch a couple of days ago and I’m still enjoying the leftovers (there wasn’t much left over though!) I kind of used a bit of a mixture of this and this in the recipes though, while of course, adding a couple of extra things. Here’s what I did:

  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar;
  • 1 1/4 cups of SR flour
  • 100gm butter (melted)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk (I tossed in about 1/4 cup more because I put more dry ingredients in – the coconut)
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Coconut – I threw in the rest of my packet, which would’ve been around 1/2 cup

Sauce Ingredients

  • 2-3 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 45gm butter (melted)

Grease baking dish (at least 2 litres), combine the dry ingredients and mix.  Add the other ingredients and mix together.  Place in dish.  To make the sauce, place the butter and goldensyrup in a container, pour the boiling water over, stir til combined and then pour onto batter.  Place in an over at 180degrees and cook at least 35-40 minutes. I cooked mine in the slow cooker, so for my benefit later on, here’s what I did:  Placed dish on a trivet (I used a small baking tin), put it on high for about 2-2.5 hours, dropped it back to low for the next hour, then turned it off.  I warmed it just before we were about to eat it (which was about an hour after I’d turned it off).  I baked it at work, which was why I left it on a bit longer than perhaps I needed to.  It wasn’t overcooked, but it would have been cooked at approx the 2-2.5hr mark. Next time I’d make a little more sauce if possible too.

Butterscotch Pudding

Butterscotch Pudding


And a mango cake recipe to try one day next summer when manoges are back: here.

2 Comments »

  1. […] base – a triple choc chip variety. I think I loosely followed the mango cheesecake one from here, but with modifications. Of course. Orange rind from a couple of oranges was in the mixture. On the […]

    Pingback by A bit more cooking | Thumper... — June 8, 2015 @ 4:08 pm | Reply

  2. Use 1 1/2 cups of GF self raising flour to make the butterscotch pudding gluten free.

    Comment by pearsey — June 8, 2015 @ 4:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

