Thumper…

January 4, 2015

Mango Time!

Filed under: Food — pearsey @ 12:01 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

My brothers girlfriend left 5 mangos at my place on Christmas day. She didn’t want them back, because she didn’t like them! They were a little soft, so they really needed using fairly quickly. Now mango is a bit of an acquired taste and I’m not sure I’ve quite acquired that taste yet… Nevermind, I like a challenge, so I’ve been cooking with mangos the last few days as well as using up Christmas leftovers and the fruit and vegies I had. Here’s what I did.

  • Turkey and mango salad

    I got the idea from here, and only loosely followed the recipe.
    I used some iceberg lettuce, walnuts, leftover Christmas turkey, some capsicum (I only had green on hand, red would have looked better) and one mango topped with some olive oil. Surprisingly it tasted ok and tasted better day 2! Great way to use up the left over Christmas turkey!

    Mango and Turkey Salad

    Mango and Turkey Salad

  • Fruit salad

    Easy! Threw in some pineapple, cherries, orange and apples that I had on hand, and of course one mango.

    Fruit Salad

    Fruit Salad

  • Two down, 3 to go.

  • Mango and Pineapple cake

    Found this recipe while searching for mango recipes. I used two mangos instead of canned mango. It tastes great! I think I’ll actually go and buy mangos specially just so that I can make this cake again.

  • The last mango – I have promised that to one of my work colleagues who is going to make a mango smoothie. Cheating? Maybe, but I think I’ve done a pretty good job on the mango challenge!
    Mango and pineapple cake

    Mango and pineapple cake


    Ready to cook

    Ready to cook

    Just out of the oven

    Just out of the oven

1 Comment »

  1. […] Because summer was mango season, I also grabbed a few more mangos and voluntarily continued my mango challenge. […]

    Pingback by A few cooking things | Thumper... — April 12, 2015 @ 6:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

