Thumper…

April 20, 2014

Cooking Catchup

Filed under: Food — pearsey @ 4:01 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I’ve posted much about my cooking. Now, mainly for my benefit so I know where to find these recipes later on, here’s a selection of good, great and ordinary! Most of the recipes were chosen because I needed to use up a particular ingredient. Either that, or I use what’s on hand, substituting that where I don’t have the listed ingredient. It’s all good fun and mostly it works. Even better is that you get to eat your creation when you’re done!

One pan lasagne
Seriously this was in the “great” list! It was so easy and tasted so good – it was a winner with the guests who sampled it. I honestly don’t know whether I’ll ever make a traditional lasagne again.

One Pan Lasagne

One Pan Lasagne

Lemony Yoghurt Salad
Another in the great list. A couple of apples tossed in some lemon juice to stop them going brown (I used granny smith), some capsicum (instead of celery), lettuce and cornflakes (sprinkle corn flakes on just before serving). For the dressing, 1/4 cup of yoghurt, zest of a lemon, 1 tbsp finely chopped basil (I used dried), 2 tbsp grated apples and salt and pepper to taste. I didn’t find the dressing to be that good, it was rather tangy for me, possibly not helped by using vanilla yoghurt rather than natural. Tick of approval again from the guests.

Lemony Yoghurt Salad

Lemony Yoghurt Salad

Lemony Yoghurt Salad

Lemony Yoghurt Salad

Raspberry and yoghurt loaf
And yes, another winner! I liked this one so much I’ve made it 3 weekends in a row. I used strawberries instead of raspberries as we were in strawberry season and they were plentiful. This recipe comes from goodfood.com.au, but because I don’t want to lose this recipe, here it is replicated:

  • 250gm plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking power
  • pinch of salt
  • 115gm soft butter
  • 255gm castor sugar
  • zest of 1 large lemon, finely grated
  • 2 large eggs
  • 100g full-fat plain yoghurt (I used a couple of spoonfuls more)
  • 25g ground almonds ( I used flaked)
  • 200g fresh raspberries (or strawberries)

Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Cream the butter and castor sugar in a large mixing bowl for five minutes or until pale and fluffy. Beat in lemon zest. Beat in eggs one at a time, adding a tablespoon of the sifted flour with the second egg. Alternatively fold in large spoonfuls of the remaining flour and the yoghurt until the mixture is smooth, then fold in the almonds. Spoon 1/3 of the cake mixture into a greased and lined loaf tin and scatter with 1/3 of the raspberries. Repeat twice, finishing with a layer of raspberries. Place tin in a preheated (180deg) oven. Bake for 45-50min until the cake is nicely browned, then cover loosely with foil and bake for a further 20-25minutes, until a skewer inserted comes out clean.
Remove cake from oven, cool for 5 minutes and if desired sprinkle with white sugar. Enjoy!

Strawberry Yoghurt Loaf

Strawberry Yoghurt Loaf

Sour cream quiche
We had some sour cream left over from a work lunch, so I volunteered to make something to use it up. I hadn’t made quiche before, so I was a bit worried as to how this would turn out. I needn’t have worried. Despite me messing with the recipe (as usual), it was eaten and enjoyed at work and there was nothing left over. The recipe from bestrecipes.com.au is linked to above, but here’s what I did.

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, rolled to fit in the dish
  • 3 eggs
  • approx 250ml sour cream (needed 300ml, I ran out), rest made up with milk
  • 1 small onion, fried before hand to cook it
  • A handful or so of ham
  • 4 or 5 leaves of silver beet
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Place the eggs in a bowl and whisk, add cream and milk, whisk again. Throw in other ingredients, pour into quiche dish lined with pastry and bake at 180deg til cooked (at least 30 min).

    Sour Cream Quiche

    Sour Cream Quiche

    Apple and raspberry crumble (slice)
    This was one that I found in my recipe book. It’s actually meant to be pear and ginger, but I didn’t have any pears. I did however have apples and strawberries! This again turned out really well and the crumble on top was actually nice and crunchy. What was the secret? Mix the dry ingredients together, then melt the butter and sugar until dissolved. Pour that onto the flour mixture and let it go hard. Break it up, scatter on top and let it cook. It was meant to be a slice, but left its mark as a dessert, served warm with ice cream.

    Apple and Strawberry Crumble

    Apple and Strawberry Crumble

    Berry Jelly Cake
    This was from my sisters cook book. Mine looked nothing like the picture. It tasted ok, but the chocolate I iced it with didn’t really go with it. I should’ve stuck with the cream. May possibly try it again.

    Berry Jelly Cake

    Berry Jelly Cake

    Apple Pie Pudding
    This one had the beginnings of something good. The apples, walnuts and corn flakes were a great combination and it tasted its best when it was straight from the oven. The pudding part of it was a bit too sweet for me, so I may have to do some more experimenting with that combination to make it work properly. Otherwise, quick and easy.

    Apple Pie Pudding

    Apple Pie Pudding

    Cornflakes butter cake
    For me, this was ordinary. It is meant to use caramel ice cream, but I didn’t have any, so I substituted some philadelphia chocolate cream cheese frosting. I baked it too long and that was probably my fault that it then tasted dry. It also looked nothing like the picture on the website! I did however find a nice easy recipe for some chocolate syrup, and the leftovers were great on some ice cream (and it was a winner with those who I tested it on!).

    Cornflakes butter cake

    Cornflakes butter cake

    Homemade Chocolate Syrup
    Wow, so easy. Cocoa, sugar and water. A bit of heat, a bit of vanilla when done. Homemade chocolate syrup, without all the fillers you get in bought chocolate syrup.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

