Thumper…

January 6, 2014

It’s Lemon Time!

I seem to have an abundance of lemons around at the moment, and finally with a bit of time on my hands, I’ve got back into some cooking. No prizes for guessing what the primary ingredient was.
To start with, I made some Succluent Honey and Lemon Chicken. Quite simply – take some lemon juice, honey, rosemary, garlic and butter, combine it all and cook until it smells good. Poor that over some chicken pieces and cook for an hour or so. I didn’t get a photo, it was gone too quick! The juices were too good to waste, so with the leftover stock, I actually made a chicken mince stew a few days later. Will definitely make the lemon and honey chicken again, it was really easy and tasted good.

To go with that, I needed some dessert for the visitors, so I went hunting for some cherry recipes, as I had plenty of them lying around as well. I found this: Frozen cherry yogurt pie. I made a couple of them and took one to work as well. All reviews were favourable, however it definitely needs to sit out of the freezer longer than the recommended 5 minutes. Again – quick and easy: Grab some yogurt (recipe says vanilla yoghurt, but I used natural yogurt with some added vanilla), honey, cinnamon, mix it together, put it in a pie base and whack it in the freezer. So easy! The pre-made pie bases I bought weren’t quite big enough though, so all of the left over yogurt mix went into a container and into the freezer. So now I have some frozen cherry yogurt to eat on nice hot summer days as well. Next time I make it I might try and make my own base though, or halve the yogurt part of the recipe.

Frozen Cherry Pie

Frozen Cherry Pie

Back on the lemon theme, I went for gooey lemon squares and a lemon cake.

Gooey Lemon Squares, recipe from All Recipes.

    For the base:

  • 1 3/4 cups (220g) plain flour
  • 1/2 cup (90g) icing sugar
  • 185g butter, softened
    For the lemon filling:

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups (350g) caster sugar
  • 2 tablespoons plain flour
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 4 tablespoons icing sugar for decoration

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees C. Grease a 20cm x 30cm x 5cm deep baking pan. Combine the base ingredients and pat dough into prepared pan. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes until slightly golden. While the crust is baking, whisk together eggs, caster sugar, flour and lemon juice until frothy. Pour this lemon mixture over the hot base. Return to the preheated oven for an additional 20 to 25 minutes, or until light golden brown. Cool on a wire rack. Dust the top with icing sugar and cut into squares.

Mine didn’t quite come out of the tin, despite the baking paper on the bottom and is now all cracked on the top after my efforts. But next day, after overnight in the fridge, it seems to be coming out ok. It tastes quite good, although with all that sugar you definitely only need a small piece at a time.

Gooey Lemon Squares

Gooey Lemon Squares

Lemon Drizzle Cake, again from AllRecipes.

  • 125g butter or margarine
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 185g self raising flour
  • a pinch of baking powder
  • 1 lemon, rind grated and juiced
  • 1/4 cup milk, or as needed
  • 4 tablespoons icing sugar

The best thing about this is – put everything bar the icing sugar and lemon juice in together, mix it up and put it in the oven to bake (180 deg). I didn’t quite follow the recipe – I didn’t do the drizzling. Instead I put in some extra flour (about 1/2 an ounce extra), put around about 1/4 cup of lemon juice into the cake, extra milk and mixed that altogether. It has a lovely lemon taste and is not too dry. Don’t know why it didn’t rise though!

Lemon Cake

Lemon Cake

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

