Thumper…

January 19, 2013

Summer Entertaining

Filed under: Food — pearsey @ 9:06 am
Tags: , , , , ,

With the Christmas period comes a break in regular activities – leaving more time for watching the cricket, cooking and entertaining. I haven’t been taking many photos of the cooking efforts recently, but I have managed to get a couple of some desserts I’ve made. They’re loosely based on the yoghurt fool idea, but substituting the ingredients I don’t like for ones I do and then just adding extra anyway.

The first offering is the rhubarb and yoghurt fool – natural yoghurt sweetened with some honey. In this recipe I based the yoghurt/honey balance on this recipe 250gm natural yoghurt to 2 tablespoons of honey, but in subsequent times, I’ve just thrown them together “to taste”, no measurements used at all. Then I layered the rhubarb, strawberries and yoghurt, finishing up with a drizzling of chocolate sauce. After I made this one, I decided I wasn’t a big rhubarb fan, I can eat small amounts of it, but this wasn’t small enough. Rhubarb in my friend Margaret’s rhubarb slice is quite good however!

Rhubarb and natural yoghurt topped with some strawberries and choc sauce

Rhubarb and natural yoghurt topped with some strawberries and choc sauce

The second offering is similar, using the available summer fruits, but avoiding rhubarb. I used yoghurt and cream this time (not natural yoghurt) and this gave a lovely creamy layer to go with the strawberries and apple. I kind of used this recipe as the base for the yoghurt/cream, but admittedly I gave up on the measurements here before I’d even started and just poured both in til it looked and tasted ok. I topped this one off with some chopped macadamia nuts and fudge.

Apple, strawberries, yoghurt and cream mixture

Apple, strawberries, yoghurt and cream mixture

Topped with fudge and macadamia nuts

Topped with fudge and macadamia nuts

A couple of other great, easy recipes were found on the net to start off with. A pasta and vegetable bake, which was really simple and tasted good (yes of course I modified it so that it had vegetables in it that I liked) and a pork, mustard and cream casserole which was so easy to make and tasted good (and yes, I modified that as well). Both were very forgiving recipes – in that you could make it a bit more or less depending on how many people you needed to feed and how many vegetables you cut up and it didn’t effect the taste or consistency. The mustard and cream casserole also worked well with beef.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

