Thumper…

October 28, 2012

Yummy Lemon Pudding Cake

Filed under: Food — pearsey @ 7:42 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Well it’s been a while, but I finally had a chance to do some cooking today. I made a two course meal, but I’m going to start with dessert because that was the highlight! This was an afterthought, I don’t normally bother with dessert when I’m cooking for myself. But seeing as I was giving Mum and Dad half of what I was cooking for their tea, I figured, dessert could be good. This pudding actually took me a lot longer than the 15 minutes prep time specified, but I guess I stopped half way through and washed the mixing bowl and beaters, so that took a bit of time.
The result was GREAT!!! The pudding was absolutely the best I have tasted in a long time, it was really really nice! I’ll be making it again for sure.

Yum! Lemon Pudding Cake

Now, here is the recipe, as found in the Readers Digest Quick, Thrifty Cooking book. I need to reproduce it here in case the person I’ve borrowed the book off requires it back sometime!

Recipe for Lemon Pudding Cake

  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 60g butter or margarine
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 1/3 cup of lemon juice
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup plain unsifted flour
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 deg C. In a mixing bowl, beat the whites of the eggs until stiff, and put aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the lemon rind, lemon juice and the egg yolks, one at a time, until well mixed. Beat in the milk, then the flour until blended.
  3. Fold the beaten egg whites into the lemon mixture, then pour into a greased 20cm shallow casserole dish. Set the dish into a larger pan; pour hot water into the pan to a level of about 2cm. Bake, uncovered, for 35 minutes. Serve warm or cold.

Serves 4. kJ per serving: 1280. Preparation: 15 minutes. Cooking: 35 minutes.
Note: While baking, the pudding sinks to the bottom and the cake rises to the top. The result resembles a lemon pie but is far easier to make. Note that the cooking time is unattended baking and that you can make the cake a day or two ahead and refrigerate it.

Rather than one dish I made mine in smaller ramekins, so the cooking time was reduced a bit.

For main course I just made something simple as well. I’m not really sure what you’d call it seeing as it was just something I made up – maybe you could call it apricot and tomato sausage shepherds pie!
Basically I just cooked some onion, sausages (gourmet sausages from the Gunbower butcher, cut into smaller pieces after cooking), then put them in a casserole dish, along with some herbs of choice (I used mixed herbs and garlic), then put in some chopped fresh vegies (I used capsicum, carrot and pumpkin) and a tin of tomatoes and a tin of apricot nectar. I topped it with some mashed potatoes. I was splitting this into two dishes and somehow the one I was having ended up really runny, so the mashed potato kinda got mixed in with the casserole a bit. I tried to thicken the casserole with some cornflour, but of course that was never going to work until the casserole was hot, so the mashed potato still ended up mixed in more than I planned. Still, it tasted pretty good, not too sweet, as it sometimes can with apricot, so that was good.

Anyway, here’s some pics.

1 Comment »

  1. wow… these look yummy! 🙂

    Comment by reichann — October 28, 2012 @ 8:23 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

