Thumper…

April 29, 2012

Kinda like cooking…

Filed under: Food,Idle Ramblings — pearsey @ 9:28 pm
Tags: ,

It’s kinda like cooking. Only different. You follow a recipe, you have to put the ingredients in, in a certain order. You have to put correct amounts in. You have to mix it correctly. You don’t want it too thick, or too runny. You don’t want to have it sit there too long before using it. Just like cooking, if you know what you’re doing, you can add a bit extra of this or a bit extra of that if you need to. And just like cooking, there’s a heap of cleaning up to do afterwards! Along with that, I also got a fresh revelation of the verse in Galatians 5:9. “A little leaven leavens the whole loaf”. I’m not a baker, I have no idea what the capability of leaven or yeast in a loaf of bread is. I’ve never made bread in my life. I just have to take the word of the Bible as truth and assume that you don’t actually need much yeast when you make a loaf of bread. So I’ll keep that in mind if I ever make some.

So what’s kinda like cooking only different? Well believe it or not, making concrete!

I finally did a bit more on my backyard, mainly motivated by the fact that every time it rains heavily, the water runs down the yard and starts eroding away the dirt underneath the shed slab. So I really need to do something about it. So Mum, Dad and I did a bit of concreting.

It’s not too hard, just throw in a bit of gravel, a bit of water, a bit of concrete, a bit more gravel, mix it up and bingo, you have concrete! How hard can it be? Well surprisingly, it wasn’t as hard as I expected! I had to adjust the number of shovel fulls needed to “girl” shovel fulls, but other than that, I went ok. Naturally enough just like when you’re making cakes, no two cakes are the same and no two loads of cement were the same, but that’s just a minor detail.

So what’s the relevance of a little leaven? As I’m standing there wondering how on earth this yellow gravel is going to come out grey, I loaded in the shovels of cement – a tiny amount compared to the gravel – and watched as the yellow gravel turned grey before my eyes. As Richie Benaud would say “Marvelous, simply Marvelous”.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

