Thumper…

January 22, 2012

The Catered Honeymoon

Filed under: Food,Idle Ramblings — pearsey @ 6:58 pm

Last weekend a friend who I’ve known for years tied the knot. Part of their honeymoon was a secluded getaway in a cottage style farm. In this case, secluded means you don’t have somebody to cook for you, so the cottage was equipped with a simple kitchen so you could prepare your own meals, self catering style.

If it was me, the last thing I’d want to be doing on the morning of my wedding would be getting the food ready that I needed to take. So queue the wedding gift with a difference…

I offered to do all their catering for the honeymoon, that way they didn’t have to worry about a thing. I had a couple of aims: 1. No cooking for them, at most, serving and reheating only. 2. It had to be able to be packed up and transportable, so it had to be simple and easy to plate up.

So here’s a selection of the delicacies in photo form!

A platter of roasted chicken, delicately roasted pork, tuna olive oil 3 bean salad, salad and seasonal fruit.

Salad platter

I’m actually not a big salad maker – in fact I’ve never made a pasta or tuna salad in my life, so purely for my benefit only, here’s the ingredients for both.
Tuna salad:
Tin of tuna in olive oil, mushrooms, green beans, three bean mix, corn, cucumber, spring onion, yellow capsicum and celery. Throw everything into the bowl and stir gently. (Next time I would only put in half the liquid from the tuna though).
Pasta salad:
Gently cooked pasta, grated carrots, celery, mushrooms and spring onion with a basil and herb pasta salad dressing (from Kraft). Same theory – put it all in and stir gently.

An old favourite – the chocolate ripple cake (made with chocolate peanut biscuits) was the desert one night – yeah, I know, that doesn’t transport that well, but it’s actually not too bad. It may have only just got a little squashed (the esky was pretty full), but at least it wasn’t going to roll off the plate.

I couldn’t think of a nicer, more deserving couple than Margaret and Terry! Congratulations!

(Now if only they had some milk for their breakfast and coffee!)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

