Thumper…

July 23, 2011

Lemon Meringue Pie

Filed under: Food — pearsey @ 2:20 pm

I’m not a big fan of tangy things, but I had some lemons there and somebody said they were going to make a lemon meringue pie. So I thought if they can do it, I can do it. Never mind that I’d never eaten any before, I figured it was a dessert, I liked meringue and I liked the pie base, so chances were good that I’d polish it off!
This recipe was so easy… And I use pre-prepared bases from the supermarket to make my job even easier!

Lemon Meringue Pie from Best recipes.
180g plain biscuits, crushed
90g butter, or substitute, melted
1 x 400gm can condensed milk
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
3 eggs, separated (I used four)
1/2 cup caster sugar

Method:
Combine biscuits and melted butter
Press into a 23cm pie plate and refrigerate
Blend condensed milk and lemon juice. Add lightly beaten egg yolks and combine well.
Pour evenly into the chilled crumb crust, then bake for about 10min for filling to set.
Beat egg whites until stiff, then gradually beat in caster sugar. Spoon meringue on top of filling.
Bake in a preheated oven at 160C for 10-15min, or until meringue is golden.

I made two pies out of this using the pre-prepared bases, so I had one with visitors that night and took one to work the next day. I was still eating the left overs a few days later and it still tasted just as good then!

1 Comment »

  1. […] Christmas this year, I also made some lemon meringue pie for our family, which I turned into lemon and passionfruit meringue pie. All I did there was switch […]

    Pingback by Chocolate Scones & Other Goodies | Thumper... — December 30, 2015 @ 12:36 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

