Thumper…

December 5, 2010

Sunsets at Bugala Island, Kalangala

Filed under: Trips,Uganda — pearsey @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , ,

There’s so much to this island I wasn’t quite sure where to start!  So here we are at the end of the day with some spectacular sunsets.  Each time I watched the sun go down, painting a different picture to the night before, I couldn’t help but be amazed at how great God is.

Sitting on the beach, listening to the waves coming in and watching sunsets like this every night is something I could easily get used to!  With the palm trees, nice white sand, bird life, noise of the waves, no land visible on the horizon and plenty of sun, it’s very easy to forget that this is a lake not a beach.  One night I was fortunate enough to be paddled around the bay (or inlet) in a traditional wooden canoe.  Notice I didn’t say I actually paddled!  I just got to sit back and watch the scenery slide on past.  We headed toward the sunset, so as the boys in the back paddled, I sat up the front of the canoe and had a birds eye view!

One night I was walking along the beach and thought I’d get somebody to take a picture of me with the sunset in the back.  I asked the only person around, a local ugandan, who I don’t think had used a camera before.  By the time the photo was taken the sun had sunk too far, but still, I threw it in!

I heard the sun rises were great too, but let’s just say I didn’t get enough good shots to have a sunrise post…  (Yes it could have something to do with the fact that I wasn’t up then…)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

