Thumper…

September 24, 2010

Building Blocks

Filed under: Idle Ramblings — pearsey @ 9:39 pm

Eph 2:4-5 “But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ
When we were little kids, we used to have some wooden blocks that we played with. There were different sizes and colours and we’d build towers, bridges, roads and all kinds of other things with them. We’d play trains with them, stand on them, bang them together like cymbals (just to annoy mum and dad I’m sure) and I bet on the rare occasion we probably even threw the odd one… There were endless things you could do with them and they’d keep us amused for hours.
As I was thinking on the above verse the other day, I was reminded of those blocks. Imagine now, that those blocks are the different gifts and talents that you’ve been given. Each of us has many different blocks, or gifts and talents that God has given to us. These gifts and talents are our building blocks, and it’s what we were made to do.
The gifts and talents that I have, the building blocks He’s given to me to use, are heavy, awkward and hard to move without Him. I might have some success, but when He comes in, He helps me move those blocks – ie do what I’m meant to do – and together I achieve far more than I ever could without Him. I am made alive with Christ Jesus. It’s like He comes into me and there’s a fusion, a joining of His and my spirits together and I come alive. I literally have a superhuman strength which makes block moving a pleasure to do.

It is only when Jesus is with me that those blocks can reach their full potential and be stacked in a solid tower. With Him my blocks, the things that I’m gifted and talented at, achieve far more than I ever could doing it on my own.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

